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There are strange things going on in your basement laboratories. They kee

P
calling up for more barrels of quicksilver, or bits of your hair. Well it's all in
the name of progress. They're looking for a way to turn lead into gold, or at
least into something better than lead. That lead had just been too good of a
bargain to pass up; you didn't think, where will 1 put all this lead, what am
1 going to do with this lead anyway. Well that will all be sorted out. They're

also looking for a universal solvent. If they manage that one, you will take
whatever they use to hold it in and build a castle out of it. A castle that
can't be dissolved! Now that's progress.

——

This is the 3rd expansion to Dominion. It adds 12 new Kingdom cards to
Dominion, plus a new resource, Potions.

Dominion: Alchemy is an expansion, and can't be played by itself; to play
with it, you need the Basic cards and rulebook (Dominion provides both).
Dominion: Alchemy can also be combined with any other Dominion expan-

sions you have.

We hope you enjoy this expanding world of Dominion!
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CONTENTS
150 cards

122 Kingdom cards
10 each of Alchemist, Apothecary, Apprentice, Familiar,
Golem, Herbalist, Possession, Philosopher’s Stone,
Scrying Pool, Transmute, University
12 of Vineyard
16 Basic cards
16 of Potion
12 Randomizer cards
1 Plastic organizer tray
1 Organizing Inlay
1 Rule Booklet

MR]EPARATION

Before the first game, remove the cards from their wrappings, and place them in the
card tray. The included inlay suggests a way to organize the cards.

After you choose 10 Kingdom cards for the Supply, if any of them have & in the cost,
add the Potion pile to the Supply. Also add the Potion pile if you are using the
promotional card Black Market, and the Black Market deck includes at least one card
with & in the cost. If you do not have any cards with § in the costin the Supply or
in the Black Market deck, do not use the Potion pile in this game.

When you have a Potion pile, put all 16 Potions in it, no matter how many players
there are. In games using this pile, if the pile becomes empty, that will count towards
the game ending condition, like any other Supply pile.

MOT ION

Potion is a new Basic Treasure card. It costs @, and when played produces é rather
than ©. § is a new resource, with no equivalentin ©. You get a single ¢ per Potion

played.

To buy a card with § in the cost, you need § . For example to buy an Alchemist,
which costs @ , you need both @ and 4 . You could play a Gold and a Potion, then
buy Alchemist with the @ and § they produced. To buy two Alchemists in one turn,
you need ® and two ¢ (and a +Buy). As with ©, any unspent § is lost at end of
turn (but you will still have the Potion itself to replay for & on future turns).

Some cards refer to how much a card costs. Adding ¢ to a cost gives you a higher
cost; @ § is more than @. More specifically:
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* References to cards costing “up to” some cost only include ¢ if ¢ is in the given
cost. If ¢ is in the cost, you can drop the ¢ and that s still "up to,” but you cannot
add § ifitis not there.

Example: University gains an Action card costing up to &; it cannot gain a card
with ¢ in the cost. However if you use Remodel to trash a card costing @ §, you
gain a card costing up to @ ¢, which could be a card costing @ §, @, @ §, @,
and on down to ©.

* Adding coins to a cost does not affect ¢ being in the cost or not. If ¢ was in the
cost, it still is; if it was not, it still is not. Same with subtracting coins from a cost.
Example: Remodel allows you to gain a card costing up to @ more than the
trashed card. Trashing a card that costs @ would not let you gain a card costing
@ ¢ using Remodel. Bridge makes cards cost @ less this turn. This lowers the
cost of a card costing @ § to @ §. It does nothing to the cost of a card costing

just &.

* References to cards costing some number of © “or more” include cards with or

without ¢ in the cost.

Example: Patrician (from Dominion: Empires) checks to see if a card costs & or
more. Apothecary costs @ ¢ and so does not, since it doesn't have at least ® in
its cost, but Possession costs ® ¢ and so does cost & or more.

* References to a cost range in © does not include cards with § in the cost.
Example: Rogue (from Dominion: Dark Ages) can trash a card costing from & to

@. That means cards costing exactly ®, @, &, or ®. None of those have § in the
Cost.

* Cards which look at the cost of a card in © do not do anything with §.

Example: Salvager (from Dominion: Seaside) trashes a card, and produces +@
per @ the card cost. If you trash a card costing @ , you will just get +&.

e Cards which check if two costs are the same include ¢ if it is there.

Example: Swindler (from Dominion: Intrigue) trashes a card, and has the player
who lost it gain a card with the same cost. If Swindler trashes a card costing @ §,
that player will gain another card costing exactly @ 4 .

SAMPLE TURN

Anna has Possession, Potion, Philosopher’s Stone, and two Coppers in her hand at
the start of her turn. During her Action phase, she plays Possession. She moves on
to her Buy phase. First she plays Philosopher’s Stone. She immediately counts her
deck (11 cards) and her discard pile (6 cards). The total, 17 cards, is worth &. She
then plays the Potion and Coppers from her hand. Anna has ® and § to spend.
Anna buys a Familiar and puts it into her discard pile. She has @ left to spend, but
no more Buys, so she is done. She discards the cards in her play area and draws 5
new cards for her next turn.
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Before Billy can take his normal turn, he first has an extra turn where Anna
“possesses” him and gets to make all of his decisions for him. Anna looks at his
hand and sees that he has Apprentice, Herbalist, Potion, and two Silvers. Anna tells
Billy to play his Apprentice. Anna chooses to have Billy trash a Silver so that Billy
draws 3 more cards for her to work with. The trashed Silver is set aside; it is not put
into the Trash pile. Billy drew 1 Gold and 2 Coppers. Anna has Billy play the
Herbalist. In Billy's Buy phase, she has Billy play his Potion, Gold, 2 Coppers, and the
remaining Silver. Combined with the @ from Herbalist, Billy has ® and ¢ to spend
and 2 Buys. Anna has Billy buy Province, which Anna gains instead. With the
remaining é, Anna has Billy buy Vineyard, which Anna also gains instead. Billy now
discards the cards in his play area. Anna chooses to put Copper on top of Billy's
deck, using Herbalist's ability. Then Billy draws 5 new cards for his normal turn. As
the Cleanup phase is a part of the “possessed” turn, Anna takes a peek at Billy’s new
hand. Finally, Billy puts the Silver that was trashed into his discard pile, and takes
his normal turn.

ﬁINGDOM CARD NOTES

Alchemist: When you discard this from play during Clean-
up, if you have at least one Potion card in play, you may put
Alchemist on top of your deck. This is optional, and happens
before drawing your new hand. If you have multiple
Alchemists and a Potion, you can put any or all of the
Alchemists on top of your deck. You do not have to have
used the Potion to buy anything, you only need to have
played it. You choose what order to discard cards in Clean-
up, and so can discard your Alchemists ahead of your Potion.

Apothecary: You draw a card and get +1 Action first. Then
reveal the top four cards of your deck, put the revealed
Coppers and Potions into your hand, and put the other cards
back on your deck in any order. You cannot choose not to
take all of the Coppers and Potions.

Apprentice: If you trash a card costing @, such as Curse or
Copper, you do not draw any cards. Otherwise you draw a
card per @ the card you trashed cost, and another two cards
if ithad ¢ in its cost. For example if you trashed a Golem,

which costs @ § , you would draw 6 cards.

Familiar: You draw a card, get +1 Action, and each other
player gains a Curse.

Golem: Reveal cards from the top of your deck, one ata
time, until you have revealed two Action cards that are not
Golem. Discard all of the revealed cards except for the non-
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Golem Actions you found. If you did not find any, you are
done. If you found one, play it. If you found two, play them
both, in either order. You cannot choose not to play one of
them. These Action cards are not in your hand and so are
unaffected by things that look for cards in your hand. For
example if one of them is Throne Room, you cannot use it
on the other one.

Herbalist: When you play this, you get +@ and +1 Buy.
When you discard this from play in Clean-up, you may
choose a Treasure card you have in play, and put that card on
your deck. You choose what order to discard cards during
Clean-up; so for example if you have Herbalist, Potion, and
Alchemist in play, you could choose to discard Alchemist
first, putting it on top of your deck, then discard Herbalist,
and put Potion on top of your deck. If you have multiple
Herbalists in play, each one will let you put another Treasure
from play onto your deck when you discard it.

Philosopher’s Stone: When you play this, count the
number of cards in your deck and discard pile combined,
divide by 5, and round down. That is how many © this
produces for you. Once played, the amount of © you got
does not change even if the number of cards changes later in
the turn. Make sure not to change the order of your deck
when counting it; the order of your discard pile does not
matter. You will get to look through your discard pile as you
count it. You only count your deck and discard pile, not your
hand or cards in play or set aside cards.

Possession: You are not taking a turn with the deck of the
player to your left; that player is taking a turn, with you
making the decisions and gaining the cards. The “you” in all
cards still refers to the player being Possessed, not the player
doing the Possessing. Possession has several pieces to it:

* You can see the Possessed player’s cards for the entire turn,
which means you will see their next hand during Clean-
up. You will also see any cards they are entitled to see due
to card rules; for example you can look at cards they have
set aside with Native Village (from Dominion: Seaside).

* You make all decisions for the Possessed player, including
what cards to play, decisions those cards provide, and
what cards to buy.

* Any cards the Possessed player would have gained in any
way, you gain instead; this includes cards bought, as well
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as cards gained due to Actions. The cards you gain this way
go to your discard pile, even if they would have gone to
that player’s hand or the top of their deck or somewhere
else. You also get any @ tokens that player would have
gotten (this is a change from the original version of
Possession). You do not get any other tokens that player
would have gotten (this is a change from an earlier
version). @ is something from Dominion: Empires; if you
do not have those cards, that part of Possession’s effects
does not matter.

During the Possessed turn, whenever one of that player's
cards is trashed, set it aside, and that player puts it into
their discard pile at the end of the turn, after Clean-up.
The card is still trashed, so for example you could have
them trash a Mining Village (from Dominion: Intrigue)
and get the +@. Getting those cards back at end of turn
does not count as those cards being gained (so for
example, you will not get them). Other players’ cards that
are trashed during that turn are not returned.

Cards passed with Masquerade (from Dominion: Intrigue)
are not being gained or trashed. Exchanging a card (such
as Soldier from Adventures) does not count as gaining or
trashing. Cards returned to the Supply, such as with
Ambassador (from Dominion: Seaside) are also not being
trashed, and so return to the Supply normally.

If you make another player play an Attack via Possession,
that Attack will hit you like it would normally. If you want
to use a Reaction in response to that Attack (such as
Moat), you would be the one revealing the Reaction, not
the player being Possessed.

Possession causes an extra turn to be played, like the card
Outpost does (from Dominion: Seaside). The extra turn
happens only after this turn is completely over - you will
have discarded everything and drawn your next hand.
Outpost only prevents itself from giving a player two
consecutive turns, it does not prevent other cards or the
rules from doing so. So for example if you play

Possession in a two-player game, then after the Possession
turn, that player still gets their normal turn. If they played
Outpost during that turn though, it would not give them
an extra turn. If you play both Outpost and Possession in
the same turn, the Outpost turn happens first. If you
make someone play Outpost during a turn in which you
Possessed them, that player will get the extra turn and
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make decisions during it and so forth, not you; if you
make someone play Possession during a turn in which you
Possessed them, that will make that player Possess the
player to their left, rather than you getting to Possess
anyone further. Possession turns (and other extra turns)
do not count for the tiebreaker. Once the game ends, no
further turns are played, including extra turns from
Possession and Outpost.

* Unlike Outpost, Possession is not a Duration card. It is
discarded in the Clean-up phase of the turn you played it.

* Possession is cumulative; if you play it twice in one turn,
there will be two extra turns after this one.

Scrying Pool: First each player reveals their top card, and
discards it or puts it back, with you choosing separately for
each player. If people care about the order, go clockwise,
starting with yourself. After that, reveal cards from the top
of your deck until you reveal a card that is not an Action
card. If you run out of cards without revealing a non-Action
card, shuffle your discard pile and keep going. If you have no
discard pile left either, stop there. Put all of the Action cards
you revealed from your deck into your hand, plus that first
non-Action card.

Transmute: If you trash a Curse to this, you do not get
anything. If you trash a card with more than one type to
this, you get each applicable thing. For example if you trash
an Action-Victory card (such as Nobles, from Dominion:
Intrigue), you gain both a Duchy and a Gold.

University: Gaining an Action card is optional. Cards with
& in their cost cannot be gained by this.

Vineyard: This is worth 1 @ per 3 Action cards you have,
rounded down; for example if you have 11 Action cards, your
Vineyards are worth 3 @ each.

XECOMMENDED SETS OF 10

Players can play Dominion with any set of 10 Kingdom cards, but these sets have been specially picked out to be
entertaining and show off card interactions and strategies.

Alchemy & Dominion:

Forbidden Arts: Apprentice, Familiar, Possession, University ¢ Bandit, Cellar, Council Room, Gardens, Laboratory,
Throne Room

Potion Mixers;: Alchemist, Apothecary, Golem, Herbalist, Transmute ¢ Cellar, Festival, Militia, Poacher, Smithy

Chemistry Lesson: Alchemist, Golem, Philosopher’s Stone, University * Bureaucrat, Market, Moat, Remodel, Vassal,

Witch
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Alchemy & Intrigue:

Servants: Golem, Possession, Scrying Pool, Transmute, Vineyard ¢ Conspirator, Mill, Minion, Pawn, Steward
Secret Research: Familiar, Herbalist, Philosopher’s Stone, University ¢ Bridge, Masquerade, Minion, Nobles,
Shanty Town, Torturer

Pools, Tools, and Fools: Apothecary, Apprentice, Golem, Scrying Pool * Baron, Ironworks, Lurker, Nobles,
Trading Post, Wishing Well

Alchemy & Seaside:

Forewarned: Apothecary, Golem, Possession, Scrying Pool, Transmute * Cutpurse, Embargo, Ghost Ship,
Native Village, Treasure Map

Gummed Up: Apprentice, Familiar, Herbalist, Philosopher’s Stone, Vineyard * Ambassador, Haven, Sea Hag,
Smugglers, Warehouse

Alchemy & Prosperity:

Counting Contest: Apothecary, Golem, Herbalist, Philosopher's Stone ¢ Bank, Counting House, Goons, Hoard,
Rabble, Quarry

Lower Learning: Apprentice, Familiar, University, Vineyard e Bishop, Mint, Peddler, Talisman, Worker's Village, Vault

Alchemy & Cornucopia/Guilds:

Clown College: Alchemist, Familiar, Golem, Philosopher’s Stone, University ¢ Harvest, Horse Traders, Jester,
Menagerie, Remake

Wine & Dine: Apothecary, Apprentice, Scrying Pool, Transmute, Vineyard e Fairgrounds, Hamlet, Horn of Plenty,
Hunting Party, Young Witch ¢ Bane: Herbalist

Iuminati: Apprentice, Golem, Philosopher's Stone, Scrying Pool, University ¢ Butcher, Herald, Masterpiece,
Merchant Guiﬁf Stonemason

Toniﬁs & Toxins: Alchemist, Familiar, Herbalist, Transmute, Vineyard e Baker, Candlestick Maker, Doctor, Plaza,
Soothsayer

Alchemy & Hinterlands:

Schemes and Dreams: Apothecary, Apprentice, Herbalist, Philosopher's Stone, Transmute ¢ Duchess, Fool's Gold,
11l-Gotten Gains, Jack of All Trades, Scheme

Wine Country: Apprentice, Familiar, Golem, University, Vineyard e Crossroads, Farmland, Haggler, Highway,
Nomad Camp

Alchemy & Dark Ages:

Infestations: Apprentice, Scrying Pool, Transmute, Vineyard ¢ Armory, Cultist, Feodum, Market Square, Rats,
Wandering Minstrel

I.¢Izlmentatians: Apothecary, Golem, Herbalist, University ¢ Beggar, Catacombs, Counterfeit, Forager, Ironmonger,
Pillage

Alchemy & Adventures:

Haste Potion: Apprentice, Scrying Pool, Transmute, University, Vineyard ¢ Plan ¢ Magpie, Messenger, Port,
Royal Carriage, Treasure Trove

Cursecatchers: Apothecary, Familiar, Golem, Herbalist, Philosopher's Stone  Save, Trade ¢ Amulet, Bridge Troll,
Caravan Guard, Peasant, Ratcatcher

Alchemy & Empires:
Collectors; Apothecary, Apprentice, Herbalist, Transmute, University ¢ Colonnade, Museum e City Quarter, Crown,
Encampment, Enchantress, Farmers’ Market ¢

Alchemy & Nocturne:
Nightmare Fuel: Alchemist, Apprentice, Transmute, Vineyard ¢ Bard, Blessed Village, Cemetery, Sacred Grove, Skulk,
Tracker

Alchemy & Renaissance:
Peek-a-boo: Cathedral « Alchemist, Apothecary, Golem, Scrying Pool * Cargo Ship, Improve, Lackeys, Patron,
Sculptor, Silk Merchant

Alchemy & Menagerie:
Class of '20: Way of the Owl, Delay * Transmute, Vineyard, University ¢ Cavalry, Coven, Hunting Lodge, Kiln, Livery,
Snowy Village, Wayfarer

Game Developers: Dale Yu and Valerie Putman

Thank you:

Playtesters: Kelly Bailey, Bill Barksdale, Dan Brees, Josephine Burns, Max Crowe, Jeff Wolfe, Ray Dennis,
Wei-Hwa Huang, Tom Lehmann, Destry Miller, Anthony Rubbo, Chris West, Molly Sherwin, Sir Shufflesalot,
Paul Sottosanti, the am Gamers, the Cincygamers, andythe Columbus Area Boardgaming Society.
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