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In this game the board shows the possible paths history can take and the actual path it currently 
takes. On your turn you can change history, travel through time, and visit a point in history. You 
draw cards, play some of them for money and abilities, and score some of them to advance your 
power through history. Having more power in a time period gives you abilities, but your goal is to 
have all of your power in the last time period, the time you come from.

Overview

1. 1 Board
2. 48 Zone Cards
3. 60 Player Cards
4. 50 Crowns (        )
5. 5 Pawns
6. 6 Paths
7. 48 Coin Chits (12 1’s, 12 2’s, 12 5’s, 12 
10’s)

Contents

The Board

Each row of the board corresponds to a different time period in history, called a Time. The ten Zone 
cards show the current path of history, and the other possible paths history can take. The current 
path, called “real,” starts at the Time I Zone, and follows the paths. In the picture, the real Zones 
are Ancient Egypt, Roman Empire, Balloon Revolution, and Age of Toys. The paths can change 
during the game, causing other Zones to become real. Paths from unreal Zones do not do anything 
until those Zones become real.

To the right of the Zones, each player has a bar for holding crowns (         ), with one section per 
Time. These show each player’s power level in that time period.         in a Time apply no matter which 
Zone for that Time is real.
		
Pawns go on a Zone to show which players are currently there. In the picture, all of the players are in 
the Age of Toys.

Time III

“Real” timeline

In some of the best versions of reality, the Egyptians discover America, the industrial revolution 
happens early, and eventually robots take over. In others, the Renaissance produces a plutocracy, which 
leads to a utopia. Or perhaps to anarchy; it’s all in the subtle details. As a time traveler, you’ve seen 
it all, and it all has its place. What’s important is who’s in control in the long run, when time travel is 
invented. With other time travelers mucking with things for their own reasons, your course is clear: you 
will tamper with history as much as is needed, step on however many butterflies it takes, to get a perfect 
world, under your own benign rule.

Crown (         ) 
advancement zone

Time I Zone
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Some Zones and cards will instruct a player to play a card.  To do so, a player chooses a card from his hand, 
announces it and puts it on the table.

There are two kinds of cards: Perpetual and Momentary. Perpetual cards are blue.  Momentary cards are 
gold. When a player plays a Momentary card, he collects the amount of         indicated in the middle of 
the card, follows the instructions on the card, and then places it in the discard pile. When a player plays a 
Perpetual card, he collects the amount of        indicated in the middle of the card, and puts the card in front of 
him on the table; it grants him an ability that lasts for the rest of the game.

There are two copies of each card in the Player deck. It is legal for a player to play a card he has already 
played previously in the game. Multiple copies of the same Perpetual card are cumulative. For example if a 
player has two copies of Explorer in play, he will gain        for each card he draws.

The current player follows the instructions for the Zone he is in, in 
the order they appear on the Zone card. Nothing is optional unless 
it says “you may.” Text in a raised box (on Primitive Paradise, Cold 
War, Police State, and Utopia) applies when it says it does, rather 
than when the Zone is visited.

If the player’s 10         are all in Time IV, that player wins.              
Otherwise, continue with the next player’s turn.

Players take turns. Each turn consists of four phases.

The current player may switch the path below the Zone with his pawn, from right 
to left or left to right. He may also choose not to change history. Only the path 
directly below the player may be switched, not ones further down. History cannot 
be changed from Time IV.

When changing history causes another player to no longer be in a real Zone, 
move that player to the real Zone for the Time he is in.

Turns

1. Change History

2. Move

3. Visit a Zone

4. Check for Victory

Turns (continued)Preparation

Shuffle the Zone cards (in four separate decks) and deal ten of them onto the board face up – one Time I card 
on the top line, two Time II cards on the second, three Time III cards on the third, and four Time IV cards on 
the last line. To start, place the six path indicators on the lighter paths on the board..
Each player chooses a color, puts the pawn of that color in the second Zone in Time IV, and puts the ten            
of that color in the track for them in Time I.

Choose a starting player. The first player starts with       . In a two-player game, the 2nd player starts with     . 
In a three-player game, the 2nd player starts with        and the 3rd player with       . In a four or five player 
game, the 2nd player starts with   $2 , the 3rd with       , the 4th with       ,  and 5th with       .
	  
Shuffle the Player Deck and deal each player two cards.

Playing Cards

 Momentary card						                 	                     Perpetual card 
The current player may move his pawn to any of the four Zones that are 
currently real. He does not have to move; he may stay where he is.

.

Money
collected

Permanent abilityOne time ability

Scoring bar (used when scoring, not when playing)
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Sample Turn

Other Rules

When a card or Zone instructs a player to do something, if he cannot do everything, he does as much as he can do. 
For example if a player with no cards in hand goes to American Civil War, he first fails to play a card, then gains        
per Time he rules.

When a card or Zone instructs multiple players to do something, go around the table in turn order, starting with the 
player whose turn it is. For example when a player plays Infected Rat, each other player with more cards in hand than 
him discards a card; start with the player to his left and go around.

Cards in hand are private until played or scored. The number of cards in a player’s hand is public. There is no hand 
size limit. When the Player Deck runs out, shuffle the discard pile and set it face-down as the new Player Deck.

Players losing        do not go below       .   Likewise, a player may not choose to pay more         than he has.  Coi are 
not limited by the        chits.  If players run out, they should use a replacement.

Some Zones and some cards refer to “ruling” a Time.

In a two or three player game, a player rules a Time if he has more       there than any other player. If it is a 
tie, no-one rules the Time.

In a four or five player game, a player rules a Time if he has the most or second most       there.  In the case 
of a tie for most        , both players rule that Time, but in the case of a three-way tie for most, no one rules 
that Time.  If there is a tie for second most       , then only the player with the most         rules that Time.

Ruling Times

Scoring Cards & Advancing Crowns

Simon begins his turn in the Roman Empire. He changes history below him, 
so that the Industrial Revolution is real instead of the Balloon Revolution.

Some Zones and cards will instruct a player to score a card. To score a card, a player looks at the purple 
bottom bar on the card, pays the amount listed, and advances the indicated number of        . A player 
can only score a card if he has enough       . Cards are scored from player’s hands; Perpetual cards in 
play cannot be scored. When a player scores a card, he only scores it, he does not follow its instructions. 
Unless all of a player’s        have reached Time IV, he may not choose to advance less than the amount 
indicated.  The player places the scored card onto the discard pile.

When advancing       , players can mix and match - each       advancement advances any single      	
one Time down - from I to II, from II to III, from III to IV. So for example when advancing four       , a 
player could advance one        from Time I to Time IV and another from Time III to Time IV, for four 
advancements total.

 He moves to the Industrial Revolution.

He plays an Inventor from his hand. He takes       . He has a Black Market 
in play from a previous turn and so takes another        . He chooses the 
“advance 2          ” option on Inventor.

 He advances one of his        from Time I to Time III. No-one else had any 
crowns in Time III, so he now rules there. So, he returns the Inventor to his 
hand. He has not won the game, so his turn is over.

Number of crowns you advance.

Amount you pay.
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Player card FAQ (continued)Zone FAQ

Age of Cats: The player only scores the card twice if he pays        plus twice the card’s score.  For example 
a player scoring Inventor here (normal cost of        for 8        advancement), would pay        total and 
advance sixteen       .

Age of Cults: Cards are passed simultaneously and privately. Players with no cards in hand are skipped over; 
they neither pass nor receive a card.

Age of Cybernetics: This lets a player play another card from his hand as if it were a copy of a Perpetual 
card he already has in play. He chooses a card from his hand and puts it under the Perpetual card to track 
that he now has an extra copy of it. He gains         as if playing the copied Perpetual card normally. It is 
possible to get multiple copies of the same Perpetual card.

Age of Toys: If a player does not have at least        , then he cannot use this ability.  If a player pays       , he 
draws two cards, discards one of the two cards, then plays the other card. 

Alien Contact: The player draws a card, and then may score that card, paying for it. If he does not score it, he 
puts it into his hand. He may only score the card if he can afford to pay for it.

Ancient Egypt: The player scores the card and advances         before checking to see if he rules Time I.  

Ancient Greece: A player may only pay        if he has         or more. 

Bureaucracy: The player retreating the        chooses which         to retreat, but cannot retreat any         past 
Time I.  

Cold War: At the start of a player’s turn, if he is in the Cold War and no other players are, he gains        . This 
applies even if the player is only in the Cold War due to history changing. When visiting the Cold War, a 
player just plays a card; the        bonus only applies at the start of a turn.

Ice Age: The player scores the card and advances         before checking what Times he rules.

Icy Wasteland: First the player scores a card, plays a card, or draws 2 cards, his choice. Then, if he rules Time 
IV, each other player loses        .

Imperial China: The player has to actually have a card in hand in order to discard a card and gain        .

Industrial Revolution: First the player resolves playing a card; then, if he rules Time III, he may return the 
played card to his hand. He may end up ruling Time III due to resolving the played card. If he plays 
multiple cards, such as with Trinket, only the one played using the Industrial Revolution’s ability is 
returned to his hand.

Information Age:  If a player has four or more        in Time IV, then he visits Time IV first (which is only 
relevant if the Information Age is not real, such as when it is visited using Anubis Statuette).  Then, if the 
player has 4 or more       in Time III,  the player visits Time III.  Then Time II, again only if the player 
has 4 or more        in Time II.  Lastly, if the player has 4 or more        in Time I, he visits Time I.  Visiting 
a Zone means moving his pawn and following the instructions there.  The number of        is checked 
just prior to visiting a Zone.  Thus, if the number of        in Time II goes down from four to three due to 
visiting Time III, then the player would not visit Time II.  The player cannot visit any Zone he has already 
visited this turn, including the Information Age itself.  Note that the Zone he started the turn in is not 
necessarily a Zone he has visited.  He has only visited if he actually went there and followed the Zone’s 
instructions.   

Inquisition: The Inquisition causes an exception to the usual rules, and a player may choose to discard a  card 
even if he has none.  Likewise, he may choose to lose         even if he has         or        .  

Iron Age: For example, a player ruling two Times could score Artist for free, or Inventor for        .

Late Jurassic: First the player scores a card, plays a card, or draws 2 cards, his choice. Then the player 
changes history directly below Late Jurassic, whether or not the he wants to.

Mere Anarchy: No matter how many        a player has, he goes down to        .  Then he gains         per            
he has in Time IV.  

Nuclear Wasteland: Visiting a Zone means the player moves his pawn there and follows the instructions there.

Plutocracy: First the player plays a card; then, after gaining any        , if he has more        than each other 
individual player, he advances a        . If it is a tie, he does not advance a       .

Zone FAQ (continued)

Police State: In the Move phase, a player who is in the 
Police State may only stay there or move to Time IV; 
he may not move to Time I or Time II. This applies 
even if the player is only in the Police State due to 
history changing. When playing Anubis Statuette in 
the Police State, a player may only go to a Time III 
or Time IV Zone. When visiting the Police State, a 
player just plays a card.



10 11

King’s Sword: The player first counts the number of Times he rules, and then advances that many        . As 
with scoring cards, the same         can be advanced multiple times with this.

Papal Tiara: The scored card comes from the player’s hand, and the player has to pay for it. It cannot be the 
Papal Tiara itself, which is no longer in the player’s hand (though it could be the other copy of Papal 
Tiara).

Predict the Future: When this card is played, the rest of the turn is finished normally. Then, the player may 
optionally choose to change the path of history directly below the Zone he played Predict the Future in 
(unless it was played in Time IV).

Step on a Butterfly: When this card is played, the rest of the turn is finished normally. Then, change history 
directly below Time I, then directly below the real Time II Zone, then directly below the real Time III 
Zone.

Think Tank: Every time a player with this in play discards a card, he gains        . This does not give        for 
scoring cards or for playing Momentary cards; only for discarding cards without playing or scoring them. 
This does give        for discarding Treasure Map or Investments from play.

Anubis Statuette: This card lets a player visit any Zone the player has not visited yet this turn, including 
unreal Zones. The Zone the player started the turn in is not a Zone that player has visited this turn, unless 
the player also visited it (moving his pawn there or leaving his pawn there, and following the instructions 
there). The player moves his pawn to the chosen Zone and follows the instructions there. Afterwards, if 
the player is in an unreal Zone, he moves his pawn to the real Zone in the same Time (without following 
the instructions there).

Barbarian Horde: As with scoring cards, the same          can be advanced multiple times with this.

Black Market: A player with this in play gains        every time he plays a card (but not for the Black Market 
itself).

Gang of Pickpockets: A player with this in play draws a card every time he plays a card (but not for the Gang 
of Pickpockets itself).

Infected Rat: Infected Rat itself will no longer be in the player’s hand and, thus, cannot be chosen for discard. 

Inventor: If the player chooses to advance        , he can advance two         once each, or one          twice.

Investments: For example, the turn a player plays Investments, if he gained no other        , he can discard 
Investments from play for        , since playing Investments gave him        .

Player card FAQ

Treasure Map: If the player visits Time IV (for example, playing 
Treasure Map in Communist Utopia), then this card can be 
used in the same turn it is played.  As usual, visiting a Zone 
mean moving there (or staying there) and following the 
instructions – starting there is not enough.  

Zone FAQ (continued)

Primitive Paradise: At the start of a game using this Zone, place        on each Zone card.  The first time a 
player visits a Zone and no other player is there, he takes the        .  Simply beginning on a Zone that still 
has its        is not enough, he must visit the Zone by moving his pawn there (or leaving it there).  Then he 
takes the         and follows the Zone’s instructions.  

Robot Uprising: First the player advances a        ; then determines how many Times he rules.

Space Age: First the player scores a card; then, if he rules at least two Times, he may score another.

Steampunk Empire: If the player has no cards to discard, he does not advance any        . If he does discard a 
card, he advances three        . He can advance three       once, or one        three times, or one        twice and 
one        once.

Stone Age: First the player scores a card; then, he gains        per Time he has no         in.

Utopia: Players here do not lose        or discard cards on other players’ turns. This protects players here from 
Inquisition, Ice Age, Icy Wasteland, Infected Rat, and Tulip Stocks (they are already protected from 
Plague and Great Depression due to being in Time IV).

Warm Globe: Each player must play a card if he has one.  It is not optional.



12

Illustrations & graphic design: Alayna Lemmer. 

Rules editing: Heydon Hensley.

Thank you, playtesters: Kent Bunn, Lucas Hedgren, Mark Levine, Destry Miller, Kevin White, Jeff 
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Alternate Realities

Players can deal out ten Zone cards randomly by Time, but can also choose them so as to create a 
certain type of game. Here are five examples of themed sets of Zones.

Beginners: Ancient Egypt & Roman Empire, Renaissance & Industrial Revolution, Balloon 
Revolution, American Civil War & Steampunk Empire, Age of Toys, Robot Uprising, Nanotech 
Wonderland

Friendly: Stone Age & Pax Buddha, Age of Cults & Balloon Revolution, Summer of Love, 
Prohibition Era & Information Age, Utopia, Warm Globe, Communist Utopia

Harsh: Ice Age & Inquisition, Plague & Bureaucracy, Great Depression, Police State & Savagery, Icy 
Wasteland, Nuclear Wasteland, Mere Anarchy

Riches: Primitive Paradise & Crusades, Holy Norse Empire & American Civil War, Plutocracy, Age 
of Discovery & Nanotech Wonderland, Age of Cats, Age of Toys, Warm Globe

Control: Iron Age & Roman Empire, Egyptian America & Prohibition Era, American Civil War, 
French Revolution & Nuclear Wasteland, Space Age, Robot Uprising, Icy Wasteland


